• Onion Rings with Thai Dipping Sauce

    Posted on April 30, 2011 by in Appetizers

    Fried onion rings with a thai-inspired dipping sauce.


    for the dipping sauce:
    1 cup boiling water
    1/2 cup rice vinegar
    5 TB sugar
    1 tsp salt
    red chili pepper flakes

    for the onion-rings:
    1 medium-sized onion
    1 1/2 tsp Ener-G, whisked with 5 TB water
    1 cup cornstarch
    2 tsp dried cilantro
    1 tsp dried mint
    1 tsp dried red chili flakes
    a few dashes of cracked black pepper
    vegetable oil
    cilantro sprigs

    To make the dipping sauce, bring the water to a boil in a small saucepan. Add in the sugar and stir constantly until dissolved. Remove from the heat and add the vinegar, salt and red chili pepper flakes. Set aside or chill in the refrigerator.

    Combine the cornstarch, cilantro, mint and chili flakes and pepper in a wide and shallow bowl. Set aside.

    Slice the onion into 1-inch thick rings and separate. Set aside.

    In a wide shallow saucepan, heat plenty of oil over medium-high heat. You can tell when the oil is ready by inserting a wooden spoon into the oil. Once it bubbles up around the spoon, its ready.

    Working in batches of about 5 rings, dunk them in the Ener-G slurry, and then coat them in the cornstarch mixture. Slide them slowly into the oil and fry for about 3 minutes, or until golden brown. Place on paper towels to drain.

    Serve immediately with cilantro sprigs and the dipping sauce.

    Let the oil cool completely and, using a strainer, pour into a reusable container. Store the oil in the refrigerator until your ready to use it again.

    The time needed to cook this recipe is under 30 minutes.

    Print Friendly

6 Responsesso far.

  1. jessy says:

    i said it once and i’ll say it again, i drooled when i saw these awesomenesses and i cannot wait to give them a whirl! yay!

  2. holly says:

    Rice vinegar is not Gluten Free!

    • jessy says:

      just be sure to check the labels, Holly – as many brands of rice vinegar are gluten-free. sometimes rice vinegars with added flavors might not be, but most are okay.

  3. holly says:

    can you substitute another vinegar?

  4. erinwyso says:

    Holly, I think you would be able to sub regular vinegar for this sauce, but google is telling me that some regular vinegar may be derived from wheat. I think Jessy’s advice above is great — just check the vinegar label to confirm that its gf. I hope you enjoy the recipe!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*


*

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>